Search by type of event: 

EFG event | EuroWorkshop  | Endorsed Training | National Association Event | Online

Search by field of activities: 

CCS | Education | Energy | GeoethicsGeoheritage | GeotechnicsGeothermal | Hydrogeology | Land use | Minerals | Natural Hazards | Oil & Gas | Renewable Energy | Soils

Submissions: 

Would you like to feature your geosciences event in our calendar? Please contact us at events@eurogeologists.eu!


Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The neglected minerals and materials of development

February 9 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Start time: 01.00 (Vancouver) * 04.00 (Toronto, Lima) * 09.00 (London) * 10.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 11.00 (Johannesburg) * 12.00 (Nairobi) * 14.30 (Mumbai) * 15.00 (Dhaka) * 17.00 (Beijing) * 18.00 (Tokyo) * 20.00 (Sydney)

Speaker
•    Prof. Daniel Franks Program Leader, Sustainable Minerals Institute, University of Queensland, Australia.

Materials produced and consumed locally (in both developing and developed countries)
o    Bulk materials, generally for nearby use
o    Role in construction, infrastructure, agriculture, water treatment, etc.
o    Environmental, social, and economic dimensions

Background: 

Minerals and other Earth materials are a key component in the development of a sustainable global society, providing essential raw materials for technologies and economic growth while respecting the natural world.
iCRAG, in collaboration with the International Union of Geological Sciences, have organized the upcoming UNESCO online lecture series on Earth Materials for a Sustainable and Thriving Society.
This programme of lectures, designed for a global audience, will provide diverse perspectives on Earth materials and their role in society. Leading natural scientists, social scientists, and educators will look at how Earth materials are critical to a sustainable future and how the minerals sector, adhering to best practices, can contribute to society in a socially and environmentally positive way.
The lectures will be delivered in webinar format by recognized global experts who will frame their presentations in the context of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. The Series will boost knowledge of Earth materials and contribute to better informed local, regional, and international discussions.
All lectures are free to attend and will include live Q&A sessions with the presenters.  All sessions will be conducted in English, but live captioning in French, Spanish, Portuguese, Arabic, Swahili, and Hindi will be available.

Details

Date:
February 9
Time:
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://bit.ly/UNESCOLectures