Search by type of event: 

EFG event | EuroWorkshop  | Endorsed Training | National Association Event | Online

Search by field of activities: 

CCS | Education | Energy | GeoethicsGeoheritage | GeotechnicsGeothermal | Hydrogeology | Land use | Minerals | Natural Hazards | Oil & Gas | Renewable Energy | Soils

Submissions: 

Would you like to feature your geosciences event in our calendar? Please contact us at events@eurogeologists.eu!


Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Earth materials: the foundation for development

January 26 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Earth materials: the foundation for development – Jan 26, 2021

Start time: 05.00 (Vancouver) * 08.00 (Toronto, Lima) * 13.00 (London) * 14.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 15.00 (Johannesburg) * 16.00 (Nairobi) * 18.30 (Mumbai) * 19.00 (Dhaka) * 21.00 (Beijing) * 22.00 (Tokyo) * 00.00+1 (Sydney).

Introductory remarks from Dr. Shamila Nair-Bedouelle, Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences, UNESCO, and Dr. John Ludden CBE, Bicentennial Research Professor, Environmental Governance and Diplomacy, Heriot-Watt University, UK.

Speakers

  • Dr Larry Meinert, Meinert Consulting LLC, Delaware, USA.
  • Dr Nellie Mutemeri, Mining Practice Lead, Mutemeri Consulting and Associate Professor, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa.

Review of historical and present-day mineral demand and its connections to the economy and technology

  • Historical context globally – why Earth materials are important
  • Technological evolution and climate neutrality are creating demand for new mineral portfolios
  • Mineral wealth and the SDGs, including wealth and social justice

Background: 

Minerals and other Earth materials are a key component in the development of a sustainable global society, providing essential raw materials for technologies and economic growth while respecting the natural world.
iCRAG, in collaboration with the International Union of Geological Sciences, have organized the upcoming UNESCO online lecture series on Earth Materials for a Sustainable and Thriving Society.
This programme of lectures, designed for a global audience, will provide diverse perspectives on Earth materials and their role in society. Leading natural scientists, social scientists, and educators will look at how Earth materials are critical to a sustainable future and how the minerals sector, adhering to best practices, can contribute to society in a socially and environmentally positive way.
The lectures will be delivered in webinar format by recognized global experts who will frame their presentations in the context of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. The Series will boost knowledge of Earth materials and contribute to better informed local, regional, and international discussions.
All lectures are free to attend and will include live Q&A sessions with the presenters.  All sessions will be conducted in English, but live captioning in French, Spanish, Portuguese, Arabic, Swahili, and Hindi will be available.

Details

Date:
January 26
Time:
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://bit.ly/UNESCOLectures

Privacy Preference Center

Necessary

Cookies that are necessary for the site to function properly.

gdpr, wordpress_test_cookie

Preference

Preference cookies enable a website to remember information that changes the way the website behaves or looks, like your preferred language or the region that you are in.

lang –
lang –

Statistics

Statistic cookies help website owners to understand how visitors interact with websites by collecting and reporting information anonymously.

@@History/@@scroll|#, _ga, _gid
@@History/@@scroll|#

Marketing

Marketing cookies are used to track visitors across websites. The intention is to display ads that are relevant and engaging for the individual user and thereby more valuable for publishers and third party advertisers.

GPS, i/jot/syndication, VISITOR_INFO1_LIVE, YSC
GPS, VISITOR_INFO1_LIVE, YSC
i/jot/syndication