EFG Medal of Merit awarded to Eva Hartai and Mirko Vaněček


The EFG Medal of Merit has recently been awarded to Prof. Eva Hartai (2020) and Prof. Mirko Vaněček (2021).

Eva Hartai received the 2020 award for her notable contribution to enhancing the standing and reputation of professional geoscientists for over 40 years, for proactively promoting the role of geology to the general public and for her exceptional dedication to the EFG in the several positions she held over more than ten years.

Mirko Vaněček was awarded the 2021 Medal of Merit in recognition of his distinguished service to professional geology in Europe for over 60 years, for proactively promoting the role of economic geology across the world and for his extraordinary contribution to the standing and reputation of European geoscientists.


Full press releases will be issued closer to the awards ceremonies which will take place during the next physical EFG Council meeting.

Privacy Preference Center


Cookies that are necessary for the site to function properly.

gdpr, wordpress_test_cookie


Preference cookies enable a website to remember information that changes the way the website behaves or looks, like your preferred language or the region that you are in.

lang –
lang –


Statistic cookies help website owners to understand how visitors interact with websites by collecting and reporting information anonymously.

@@History/@@scroll|#, _ga, _gid


Marketing cookies are used to track visitors across websites. The intention is to display ads that are relevant and engaging for the individual user and thereby more valuable for publishers and third party advertisers.

GPS, i/jot/syndication, VISITOR_INFO1_LIVE, YSC